Posted by: gmontealegre | May 4, 2010

Working the Census

I started working for the U.S. 2010 Census last week, part of a Troupe  of Americans, like you and me, who will help to count our neighbors and friends –to arrive at an updated number of the US population. The task seems daunting but it’s not. The US is an old hen at this, having had the first Census in 1790, the US has modified and perfected their job. I have been going from neighborhood to neighborhood listed in my assigned-case load and filling out the forms for many people, who for one reason or another, their forms did not reach the Census. I enjoy doing this and I guess my experience with the Census at a very young age predisposed me for this today.

I remember as a little girl in Bogota, while watching our Mom cook –together with my brothers and sisters and running around the kitchen, there was a knock at the door. It was a Census person. Mom welcomed the visitor, cleaned her hands on her apron, and proceeded to the living room. My oldest sister and I were left in the kitchen to watch the pot. But I only stayed for a few moments.

I was so curious to find out who this Census person was and what exactly did he do? The more I listened… the more I wondered..”How are they going to do this? ”

This experience marked me for life because this was the first time I had ever heard that people in the entire country would be counted.  Eventhough I was young I understood what it was to count 1, 2, 3… and I could never forget that the Census person came to our home to count us.

Now, here I am counting folks…The household I counted yesterday had children, I wonder if they understood.

Leave a Reply

Categories

